jump to navigation

Prophet Daniel called Archangel Gabriel “my Lord” December 2, 2009

Posted by mercedescoleen in Archangel Gabriel.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

1. Introduction

Chief Prince Gabriel appeared to the Prophet Daniel on the 3rd day following a 21 day fast.  Although Prophet Daniel did not refer to Him by name, I infer that the man who appeared in the vision Prince Gabriel.  Maybe the Prophet did not name Him because of the splendour and glory of His  outfit:

I looked up and saw a man dressed in linen clothing, with a belt of pure gold around his waist.

His body looked like a dazzling gem. From his face came flashes like lightning, and his eyes were like flaming torches. His arms and feet shone like polished bronze, and his voice was like the roaring of a vast multitude of people.

I, Daniel, am the only one who saw this vision. The men with me saw nothing, but they were suddenly terrified and ran away to hide.

So I was left there all alone to watch this amazing vision. My strength left me, my face grew deathly pale, and I felt very weak

When I heard him speak, I fainted and lay there with my face to the ground (Dan 10: 5-9).

2. There are similarities between this vision and others in which Chief Prince Gabriel had appeared to the Prophet Daniel:

  1. He appeared to Daniel in response to intensive confession, prayers and fasting.  In Dan 8:   ,  He appeared at the time of the evening oblation or sacrifice, which is symbolic of  confession, prayer and  worship in scripture. He also appeared to Zechariah at the time he offered sacrifices in the temple (Lk 1:             ). God responds to our sincere prayers, confession and worship.
  2. His presence was always so overwhelming that Prophet Daniel fell on his face to the ground.
  3. Chief Prince Gabriel, as usual,  lifted Daniel to his hands and knees, a position of worship in which he was less helpless.  In this position, they could look at each other directly,  a sign of friendship and communication.
  4. Chief Prince Gabriel was the one assigned to directly respond to Daniel’s prayer, just as at other times
  5. Chief Prince Gabriel always came to instruct Daniel in future events and their meanings (Dan 10: 12, 14)

It is rather amusing that the glory, power and visage of the heavenly visitor was so overwhelming  that the men around Daniel became fearful and fled, reminding me of Rev 20 :11 when Apostle John saw:

” a great white throne, and him that sat on it, from whose face the earth and the heaven fled away; and there was found no place for them.”

Apostle John also said that  the voice of the Lord Jesus sounded great, like a trumpet (Rev 1: 10).  Again, this Apostle fell down at the feet of the Lord Jesus like a dead man (Rev 1:  17).  No other heavenly inhabitants produced this kind of response in scripture.

3. Daniel called Chief Prince Gabriel “my Lord”:

While he was speaking to me, I looked down at the ground, unable to say a word.

Then the one who looked like a man  touched my lips, and I opened my mouth and began to speak. I said to the one standing in front of me, “I am terrified by the vision I have seen, my lord, and I am very weak. How can someone like me, your servant, talk to you, my lord? My strength is gone, and I can hardly breathe.”

Then the one who looked like a man touched me again, and I felt my strength returning. Don’t be afraid,” he said, “for you are deeply loved by God. Be at peace; take heart and be strong!” As he spoke these words, I suddenly felt stronger and said to him, “Now you may speak, my lord, for you have strengthened me.” (Dan 10: 15-19)

 ‘Adown is the Hebrew word that Daniel used in the text when referring to the Chief as “Lord”.  

4. Daniel referred to himself as a servant of the Lord Gabriel

More to come  on scriptural usage of the word adown!

Leave a Reply

